Step 7: Duplicate Management Rules - Shape Software - Automate your business!

Step 7: Defining Statuses (& Actions)

System Customization/Configuration: Catching Duplicate Records Through Rules

What Is Duplicate Management?

Maintaining accurate data builds the trust of your team and helps you work toward complying with various data protection and privacy regulations. Shape gives you tools for managing duplicates one at a time manually or automatically to track and eliminate duplicate records. Configure duplicate management rules to detect duplicates. Run different duplicate rules for different scenarios by customizing the logic used to identify duplicates.

Manual Reconciliation of Duplicates

Manual duplicates are identified by a warning icon within the system. You can also find duplicates in the “Reports” dropdown under “Duplicate Records.” When you click on the warning icon, you have the option to “Compare” with the other duplicate(s) detected or simply delete the record entirely.

Automatic Reconciliation of Duplicates

If you decide that you do not need to manually confirm or deny every identified duplicate, you can automate the reconciliation and merging of duplicate records programatically. When a program uses automatic reconciliation, duplicate records will be automatically merge based on the criteria that you define in the settings page.

Creating Duplicate Condition Criteria

Defining what is considered a duplicate for that rule is done in the “Conditions” section. Groups: Add groups that compare rule combinations. In the example below, the system will check First Name, Last Name and Phone OR First Name, Last Name, and Email to identify a duplicate. Therefore, if full name and a form of contact method are duplicated within the system, those records will be considered a duplicate.

Automatic Merge Rules

Choose how you want to merge the duplicate records and what fields you’d like to merge when duplicates are combined into a single record.

Identifying & Manually Merging Duplicates

If there is a duplicate record detected, there will be a warning icon in the list view, indicating that there is a potential duplicate lead. When you click on the warning icon, you have the option to “Compare” with the other duplicate(s) detected or simply delete the record entirely. You can also find duplicates in the “Reports” dropdown under “Duplicate Records.”

If there are duplicates detected, there will be a warning icon next to the record in the list view. When you click on the warning icon, you have the option to “Compare” with the other duplicate(s) detected or simply delete the record entirely.
All duplicate data points will be identified with a yellow warning icon. Merge single line items by pressing the “Merge” button individually. To merge all, by clicking the “Merge All” button at the top. As you merge data points, you will see the change on this page in real time. To switch the direction of the merge, use the radio button to select either the “New” or “Existing” record as the primary record.
No data will be permanently merged until you press “Save Record” at the bottom of the screen. Upon saving, the desired duplicate will be merged with the information selected and the unwanted duplicate will be deleted. If you’d like to delete the unwanted record without merging data, scroll to the bottom of the compare duplicates page and press “Delete Record.” Open the records by scrolling down to the bottom of the page and pressing “Open Record Details” to open the records in a new tab.

Frequently Asked Questions

No, if you manually add a record, it will not automatically be merged upon entry. Automatic reconciliation is meant for automated lead entry.