Importance of Clearing Cache & Cookies

Why Clear Your Cache & Cookies?

Browser cache and cookies should they be cleared regularly because websites and cloud software like Shape are a composition of hundreds to hundreds of thousands of files at any point to display content in your browser. Browsers (Like Chrome, FireFox, etc) try to do their part to speed up the loading process.

The first time you visit a site, the browser will save pieces of the site, because the browser can display the files stored in its cache much faster than it can pull fresh files from a server. The next time you visit that site, the cached files will help cut down the page load time.

Shape continuously improves features to advance functionality and user experience. If we change a file that your browser has cached, your browser may continue to pull the old, cached version of the file and you won’t see our most recent changes.

If you’re having an issue, clearing the cache and cookies in a browser helps fix this.


Quick Recap of How Cache & Cookies Work

  • Cookies are files created by sites you visit. They make your online experience easier by saving browsing data.

  • The cache remembers parts of pages, like images, to help them open faster during your next visit.


How To Do a “Quick Clear” of Cache

  • On Mac: Press command + shift + R

  • On PC: Press control + shift + R


How to Clear Your Cache on Chrome

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.

  2. At the top right, click More.

  3. Click More tools Clear browsing data.

  4. At the top, choose a time range. To delete everything, select All time.

  5. Next to "Cookies and other site data" and "Cached images and files," check the boxes.

  6. Click Clear data.

At the top right, click More. Click  More tools   Clear browsing data .

At the top right, click More. Click More tools Clear browsing data.

Next to "Cookies and other site data" and "Cached images and files," check the boxes. Click  Clear data .

Next to "Cookies and other site data" and "Cached images and files," check the boxes. Click Clear data.


What Happens After Clearing Cache & Cookies

  • Some settings on sites get deleted. For example, if you were signed in, you’ll need to sign in again.

  • If you turn sync on in Chrome, you’ll stay signed into the Google Account you’re syncing to in order to delete your data across all your devices.

  • Some sites can seem slower because content, like images, needs to load again.


Need More Help? Contact us at support@setshape.com